Москва

+7 (499) 703 01 32
Call back

RU EN

mail@pnx-spb.ru

TANK FARM FIRE PROTECTION. EXTINGUISHING FIRE IN TANKS

TANK FARM FIRE PROTECTION. EXTINGUISHING FIRE IN TANKS

The Pozhneftehim supports the designing of fire protection systems and manufactures equipment and foam concentrates for tank farms’ extinguishing systems.

Over 10-year experience in cooperation with leading oil and gas and petrochemical organizations allows creating economically feasible and efficient systems with due concideration of facility characteristics and legal requirements.


ORDER TYPICAL PROJECT DESIGN

Warning!

The regulatory framework (SP 155.13130) allows the use of different fire extinguishing methods using stationary fire extinguishing systems, technical solutions and fire fighting equipment. Wrong choice of the main design decisions can lead to the implementation of an apriori unworkable fire extinguishing system.

The main fault in designing fire protection systems for tank farms is the use of a filled network of solution pipelines. Foam concentrates available on the Russian market do not have any guarantee for storage in solution! Such a system will not justify multi-million costs and may fail in the first months of operation.

Important! The use of alternative extinguishing methods, not confirmed by international practice, increases the probability of an emergency at the facility in case of accidental start. The use of alternative extinguishing methods requires the involvement of industrial safety experts.

Fire protection of tank farms

Tank farm fires are dangerous both for the industrial facility itself and for settlements located in the immediate vicinity. Inaccuracies in design, installation and maintenance of fire extinguishing systems may have social, financial, environmental, and infrastructural consequences.

The fire protection of the oil and oil products tank farm depends on the specifics of the facility: what tanks are installed on the site, what flammable and combustible liquids are stored therein and in what amounts. The main section of the project «Fire safety measures» (MOPB) should contain both regulatory and technical justification for decisions. Pozhneftehim has experience in developing MOPB for hazardous production facilities and carries out a range of works to ensure fire safety under the license of the Ministry of Emergencies of the Russian Federation.

The fire safety system includes not only fire extinguishing means, but also the organization’s internal regulations to prevent fire. Among them:

  • Organization policy in the field of industrial safety, labor, environment protection
  • Organization standards for emergency preparedness and corporate training on fire safety
  • Requirements for contractors, instructions for organizing safe conduct at open fire, gas hazardous and other works

The internal organization security documents are mandatory for all employees and invited specialists.

Methods of fighting fire in a tank

According to SP 155.13130.2014 “Warehouses for oil and oil products”, the main means of extinguishing fires in oil and oil products tanks is medium- and low expansion foam applied to the surface of a combustible liquid.

The main provisions for foam fire extinguishing systems are prescribed in federal law 123-FZ "Technical regulation on fire safety requirements". Other official standards and codes of practice regulate the use of fire extinguishing systems, firefighting equipment, foam concentrate (extinguishing agent), foam generators, etc.

The Pozhneftehim recommends using the following foam extinguishing methods for fire protection of tank farms:

  • application of a film-forming low or medium expansion foam from the top downward onto the surface of the oil product using heat and explosion resistant chambers of low expansion foam in the tank upper zone;
  • application of a low expansion foam through subsurface nozzles into the stratum of the oil product to reduce the burning area in the tanks;
  • universal method with application of foam to the surface and/or into the stratum of flammable and combustible liquids.

The working solution of foam concentrate is applied to the surface of the fuel from the top downward through the wall of the tank using the Vega low expansion foam produced by the Pozhneftehim. For the method of subsurface application, a Shturm high back pressure foam generator, a burstable membrane and an Interlayer subsurface nozzle are recommended. Aquafom AFFF and AFFF/AR fluorosynthetic foam concentrates are recommended to use depending on the type of combustible/flammable liquid in the tank. Non-polar liquids shall be extinguished with AFFF foam concentrate, polar liquids – with AFFF/AR.

The principle of action of fire extinguishing systems (firefighting) and water cooling in tanks

Cooling of a burning tank and adjacent tanks of the RVS type (vertical steel tank) is the first priority of stationary installations and fire units. For this end, a water cooling unit with a pump station is created. In the event of a fire, it begins to work both on the ignited tank, and on the tanks adjacent to it. An installation of water cooling requires an underground circular water line with fire hydrants. Water also flows from it to the foam proportioners (BK-PT Vityaz) of the foam fire extinguishing systems.

Depending on the required response time of the system (the time span for the foam fire extinguishing system to start functioning), a centralized or decentralized storage and proportioning system of the foam concentrate (SKhDP) can be used in the tank farm. The point of storage and preparation of the foam concentrate solution may be located at a greater or lesser distance from the tank.

The response time of the foam fire extinguishing system directly depends on the length of the solution line that connects the foam concentrate storage and propotioning system and a protected tank. The main reason for the system failure is the use for extinguishing a non-heat/non-explosion-proof generators of medium expansion foam and low-quality foam concentrate. If the foam concentrate is non-compliant with GOST, it loses its properties before the expiration date. When stored in a pipeline, the premix decomposes within one to two months. It is possible to check the fire extinguishing properties of the foam concentrate only during expensive fire tests in accredited laboratories equipped with a test site.

The traditional top-down fire fighting technique developed in the 1960s consists in the use of a medium expansion foam, a GPS foam generator and a synthetic foam concentrate. Medium expansion foam can enter the tank by rigid application method which is one of its drawbacks. In addition, the foam premix solution of synthetic foam concentrate S-type does not protect the tank from burn back.

The risk of re-ignition of a combustible or flammable liquid (for some substances the flash point is less than 28 °C) is the main reason for choosing fluorosynthetic foam concentrate.

Fluorosynthetic foam concentrates require using low expansion foam generators and gentle foam application on the walls inside the tank. Another advantage of AFFF and AFFF/AR foam concentrates is that fluorosynthetic foam concentrates are used for both top and subsurface fire extinguishing, they do not mix with oil and effectively cool the walls of the tank at fan application with Vega foam chambers KNP.

The foam fire extinguishing systems (installations) with turbine inline and balanced pressure proportioners require the AFFF and AFFF/AR foam concentrates.

It is important that the selected foam concentrate meets the requirements of the fire equipment available at the facility, and the fire extinguishing efficiency is confirmed by testing at the test stand, taking into account the quality of water and fuel at the facility. When choosing the volume concentration, frost resistance and viscosity of a fluorosynthetic product, we recommend you to consult a specialist of the manufacturing company.

Contact information to order Pozhneftehim complex supplies

Questions concerning the choice of foam concentrates for fire extinguishing

Tatyana Potapenko, foam project manager +7 (499) 703 01 32, ext.172

Questions concerning the choice of firefighting equipment

Sergey Vypritsky, Project Manager +7 (499) 703 01 32, ext.153

Questions on documentation regarding Fire safety measures (MOPB) and Special technical conditions (STU)

Sergey Titenkov, Head of Regulatory and Technical Department +7 (499) 703 01 32, ext.159

Москва

+7 (499) 703 01 32
перезвоните

mail@pnx-spb.ru

Противопожарная защита резервуарного парка. Тушение пожаров в резервуарах

Пожнефтехим осуществляет поддержку проектирования систем противопожарной защиты, производит оборудование и пенообразователи для систем пенного пожаротушения резервуарных парков.

Более чем 10-летний опыт работы с ведущими нефтегазовыми и нефтехимическими организациями позволяет нам создавать экономически целесообразные и работоспособные системы с учетом особенностей объекта и требований законодательства.


ЗАКАЗАТЬ ТИПОВОЕ ПРОЕКТНОЕ РЕШЕНИЕ

Предупреждение!

Нормативная база (СП 155.13130) допускает применение разных способов тушения пожара с применением стационарных систем пожаротушения, технических решений и противопожарного оборудования. Неправильный выбор основных проектных решений может привести к реализации заранее не работоспособной системы пожаротушения.

Основная ошибка в проектировании систем противопожарной защиты резервуарных парков это применение заполненной сети растворопроводов. Пенообразователи, представленные на российском рынке, не имеют гарантии на хранение в растворе! Такая система не оправдает многомиллионные затраты на себя и может выйти из строя в первые месяцы эксплуатации.

Важно! Применение альтернативных способов тушения, не подтвержденных международной практикой, повышает вероятность чрезвычайной ситуации на объекте в случае непроизвольного срабатывания. Применение альтернативных способов тушения требует привлечения экспертов по промышленной безопасности.

Противопожарная защита резервуарных парков

Пожары в резервуарных парках представляют опасность как для самого промышленного объекта, так и для находящихся в непосредственной близости населенных пунктов. Неточности в проектировании, монтаже и техническом обслуживании систем пожаротушения могут иметь последствия социальные, финансовые, экологические, инфраструктурные.

Противопожарная защита резервуарного парка нефти и нефтепродуктов зависит от специфики объекта: какие резервуары установлены на площадке, какие легковоспламеняющиеся и горючие жидкости в них хранятся и в каком объеме. Основной раздел проекта «Мероприятия по обеспечению пожарной безопасности» (МОПБ) должен содержать как нормативное, так и техническое обоснование принимаемых решений. Пожнефтехим имеет опыт в разработке МОПБ для опасных производственных объектов и осуществляет комплекс работ по обеспечению пожарной безопасности по лицензии МЧС РФ.

Система пожарной безопасности включает не только средства пожаротушения, но и внутренние регламенты организации по предотвращению пожара. Среди них:

  • Политика организации в области промышленной безопасности, охраны труда, окружающей среды
  • Стандарты организации по действиям по обеспечению готовности к ликвидации аварий, корпоративному обучению действиям для пожарной безопасности
  • Требования к подрядным организациям, инструкции по организации безопасного проведения огневых, газоопасных и иных работ

Внутренние режимные документы объекта обязательны к исполнению для всех сотрудников и приглашенных специалистов.

Способы тушения пожара в резервуаре

Согласно СП 155.13130.2014 «Склады нефти и нефтепродуктов», основным средством тушения пожаров в резервуарах нефти и нефтепродуктов является пена средней и низкой кратности, подаваемая на поверхность горючей жидкости.

Основные положения по системам пенного пожаротушения прописаны в 123-ФЗ «Технический регламент о требованиях пожарной безопасности». Другие официальные стандарты и своды правил регламентируют применение систем пожаротушения, пожарной техники, пенообразователя (огнетушащего вещества), генераторов пены и др.

Пожнефтехим рекомендует применять для противопожарной защиты резервуарных парков следующие способы пенного тушения:

  • подача пленкообразующей низкократной или среднекратной пены сверху на поверхность нефтепродукта с использованием тепловзрывоустойчивых камер низкократной пены в верхнем поясе резервуаров;
  • подача низкократной пены через подслойные насадки в толщу нефтепродукта для уменьшения площади горения в резервуарах;
  • универсальный способ с подачей пены на поверхность и/или в слой ЛВЖ, ГЖ.

Рабочий раствор пенообразователя подается на поверхность горючего сверху через стенку резервуара с помощью камер низкократной пены «Вега» производства Пожнефтехим. Для подслойного способа подачи необходимы высоконапорный генератор пены ВПГ «Штурм», разрывная мембрана «Щит», насадок НП «Подслойный» Рекомендуется применять фторсинтетические пенообразователи «Аквафом» типа AFFF и AFFF/AR в зависимости от типа горючей /легковоспламеняющейся жидкости в резервуаре. Неполярные жидкости тушатся пенообразователями AFFF, полярные – AFFF/AR.

Принцип работы системы тушения пожаров (пожаротушения) и водяного охлаждения в резервуарах

Охлаждение горящего резервуара и соседних с ним резервуаров типа РВС – это первоочередная задача стационарных установок и пожарных подразделений. Для этого создается установка водяного охлаждения с насосной станцией. В случае пожара она начинает работать как на загоревшемся резервуаре, так и на соседних с ним резервуарах. Для устройства установки водяного охлаждения требуется подземный кольцевой водопровод с пожарными гидрантами. Из него поступает вода и в пенодозаторные (БК-ПТ «Витязь») в системы пенного пожаротушения.

В зависимости от требуемой инерционности, то есть времени ответа системы (через какой промежуток времени система пенного пожаротушения начинает функционировать), в резервуарном парке может применяться централизованная или децентрализованная система хранения и дозирования пенообразователя (СХДП). Пункт хранения и приготовления раствора пенообразователя может находиться на большем или меньшем удалении от резервуара.

Время ответа системы пенного пожаротушения напрямую зависит от длины растворопровода, который соединяет систему хранения и дозирования пенообразователя и защищаемый резервуар. Главная причина несрабатывания системы – применение для тушения пожара не тепло взрывоустойчивых генераторов пены средней кратности и некачественного пенообразователя. Если пенообразователь был произведен не по ГОСТ, он теряет свои свойства до истечения срока годности. При хранении в трубопроводе рабочий раствор разлагается в течение одного-двух месяцев. Проверить огнетушащие свойства пенообразователя можно только в процессе дорогостоящих огневых испытаний в аккредитованных лабораториях с наличием полигона.

Выбор пенообразователя и оборудования: низкая или средняя кратность

Традиционная техника пожаротушения «сверху», разработанная в 60-х годах прошлого столетия, заключается в применении пены средней кратности, генератора пены ГПС и синтетического пенообразователя. Пена средней кратности может поступать в резервуар методом жесткой подачи – в этом один из ее минусов. Кроме того, рабочий раствор синтетического пенообразователя S не предохраняет резервуар от повторного возгорания.

Риск повторного воспламенения горючей и легковоспламеняющейся жидкости (у некоторых веществ температура вспышки не более 28 °C) – основная причина выбора фторсинтетических пенообразователей.

Фторсинтетические пенообразователи требуют применения генераторов пены низкой кратности и мягкой подачи пены на стенки внутрь резервуара. Еще один плюс пенообразователей AFFF и AFFF/AR в том, что фторсинтетические пенообразователи применяются как для подачи сверху, так и для подслойного пожаротушения, они не смешиваются с нефтепродуктом и эффективно охлаждают стенки резервуара при веерной подаче пены с помощью КНП «Вега».

Системы (установки) пенного пожаротушения с современными дозаторами (турбинный осевой, балансирующий) требуют применения именно пенообразователей AFFF и AFFF/AR.

Важно, чтобы выбранный пенообразователь соответствовал требованиям пожарного оборудования на объекте, а огнетушащая эффективность была подтверждена испытаниями на полигоне, с учетом качества воды и горючего на объекте. При выборе объемной концентрации, морозостойкости и вязкости фторсинтетического продукта рекомендуем обращаться за консультацией к специалисту компании-производителя.

Контактная информация для заказа комплексных поставок Пожнефтехим

Вопросы по выбору пенообразователя

Татьяна Потапенко, руководитель пенного проекта +7 (499) 703 01 32, доб.172

Вопросы по выбору оборудования

Сергей Выприцкий, руководитель проектного отдела +7 (499) 703 01 32, доб.153

Вопросы по документации МОПБ

Сергей Титенков, руководитель нормативно-технического отдела +7 (499) 703 01 32, доб.159